my ticket I am really excited because today I am going to a barbecue and softball game for MIT's AI Lab (headed by the world-famous Rodney Brooks of Fast, Cheap & Out of Control fame); and, and I am going to a Red Sox baseball game with my dad and sitting in a "Private Suite" because he got a couple free tickets free from his work. Truly a very boyish day for me.

I am also still excited about my new watch, a Seiko Kinetic Arctura 100 series SKH293 I bought new off eBay and just got in the mail a couple days ago. I've actually been looking at that particular model for three years now, but never thought I would ever actually buy it. It's really beautiful. I like it way more than I even thought I would. This morning as I walked in the door to my building at MIT, a complete stranger -- a student, I'm assuming -- came up to me and asked, "What kind of watch is that?" and I held my wrist up so he could see the face better and told him and he said, "Wow, that's really cool" and I said "Thanks" even though he was really complimenting my watch, not me.

My computer at home is completely dead -- well, at least comatose. It first stopped working right a week ago Monday. I turned it on and as soon as it loaded Windows a window popped open saying, basically, "Your registry is screwed. Reboot your computer and it should be OK" but no matter how many times I rebooted, the problem would not go away. Then, a couple days ago I decided to save my Word documents CD-ROM drivers and stuff like that onto floppy disks and try reformatting my harddrive and reinstalling Windows and everything else from scratch. I'd done this successfully several times before, both on my own computer(s) and on my parents'. But this time, after it finished formatting, I rebooted the computer and got a disk error message. I tried rebooting with my Norton AntiVirus Rescue Disk in the floppy drive but that gave me a disk error message too. I'm not sure what to do next. I could take it in somewhere to get it fixed but I'd really rather not.

my new watch

testing... barbecue, softball, baseball, new watch, dead computer... 

DiaryLand